Fr. David Hemann: Psalms of David

Reviewed by Jim Logue, Jr.
by Jim Logue | Source: Grapevine -
Fr. David Hemann:  Psalms of DavidFather David Hemann knew he wanted to be a priest at an early age. He also has been involved in music just as long, playing drums and the guitar. In 1992 he recorded his first CD, Let Nothing Trouble You.

His newest and sixth album project is entitled Psalms of David, and features 10 original compositions - it starts with the song Holy Presence. Fr. David takes the advice of St. Francis De Sales who tells us we need to come into God's presence before we begin prayer. Then we hear eight psalms put to music by Fr. David, and the Canticle of Mary finishes the CD.

The music on this album is a step up for Fr. David, bringing in musicians like Sean Conway on the Irish whistle, Kate E. Jones on cello, and Barbara Lepke-Sims on harp.

This is a wonderful project of psalms, and is definitely worth listening to.

Track Listing:

Holy Presence (Prelude)
Psalm 51 - Have Mercy on Me Oh God
Psalm 63 - God, My God, I Long For You
Psalm 139 You Search Me And You Know Me
Psalm 116 - I Love You Lord
Psalm 34 - Oh Lord My God, I Cry To You
Psalm 27 - One Thing I Ask
Psalm 131 - Lord, My Heart Is Not Proud
Psalm 23 - The Lord is My Shepherd
Canticle of Mary - Magnificat

Click Here to Donate Now!

Join the new media evangelization. Your tax-deductible gift allows to build a culture of life in our nation and throughout the world. Please help us promote the Church's new evangelization by donating to right now. God bless you for your generosity.




Post a Comment
Write a comment on this article

Email required (will not be published)
required Country

Most Popular